On 16 December 2020, Authorities in Nigeria reopened four of the nation’s land border crossings in preparation for the implementation of the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) Agreement. The Federal Government had closed the country’s land borders in August 2019 due to concerns over smuggling. Trading under the AfCFTA is slated to commence on 1 January 2021.

The re-opened land crossing points are: the Seme crossing with Benin; the Magatari and Illela crossings with Niger; the Mfum crossing with Cameroon. Nigeria’s remaining land border crossing points are slated to re-open on 31 December 2020.

No responses yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *